Iswar Sankalpa was founded, and is still sustained, under the guidance and efforts of mental health professionals, such as psychiatrists and psychotherapists, who themselves work day-in and day-out within the field of mental health.

Below is a list of both current and founding board members:

Current Board Members (2013):



Dr. Ranadip Ranjan Ghosh Roy President
Dr. Prabir Paul Vice-President
Ms. Sarbani Das Roy Secretary
Dr. Debashis Chatterjee Assistant Secretary
Dr. Srikumar Mukherjee Treasurer
Mr. Surajit Ray Member
Ms. Kalpana Basu Mazumder Member


Founding Members (2007):



Ms. Rotrout Roychowdhury President
Dr. Debashis Chatterjee Vice-President
The late Dr. K. L. Narayanan Secretary
Ms. Sarbani Das Roy Assistant Secretary
Dr. Srikumar Mukherjee Treasurer
Mr. Surajit Ray Member
Ms. Kalpana Basu Mazumder Member


MEMBER – Sri Surajit Ray

He is a mechanical engineering graduate from IIT, Kharagpur. He trained in Advanced Personnel Management from Royal Institute of Public Administration in London. He is a professional member of Sumedha’s and ISTD. He has multidisciplinary exposure in corporate sector pertaining to marketing, manufacturing, HR and organizational development. He has consulted in HRD/OD from 1992 with 75 organizations. He is a regular Corporate Trainer and external Coach-Counsellor-Mentor for senior executives of a few organizations. He is very fond of reading and travelling.

He decided to reach out through Iswar Sankalpa to those whose mental well-being and rehabilitation is his human obligation- something he is unable to do singly.

    TREASURER – Dr. Srikumar Mukherjee (MBBS, DPM, MD)

    ‘Everyday is a new day’ is the thought that energises Dr Srikumar Mukherjee to carry forward the various roles in his life. Having treated and cared for countless individuals vulnerable due to homelessness and psychosocial disabilities, his favourite IS moment was the day the first resident of the Shelter walked in with her own consent exhibiting trust and faith in the organization. The lesson it left behind was to learn how to be worthy of a person’s trust. Dr Mukherjee loves Clint Eastwood and Julia Roberts films and flips through his favourite Alistair Maclean books when he gets time.

      GENERAL BODY MEMBER – Dr. Debashis Chatterjee

      A psychiatrist with a difference, he transcends the realms of pharmacotherapyand delves into philosophy, literatureand music with great zest. Rabindranath Tagore, Iswar Chandra Vidyasagar, Albert Schweitzer are a few of his favourite characters. His mascot is ‘A Cheshire cat with a cynical grin’.

        SECRETARY – Smt. Sarbani Das Roy

        A post graduate degree in Business management coupled with a training in Psychotherapy and years of experience in the development sector as an Executive director of an International Funding Agency propelled her to lay the foundation of Iswar Sankalpa in Kolkata. She is a dreamer and is ready to pay the price for her dreams. Music and Madness touch the core of her heart.

          PRESIDENT – Dr. Prabir Paul (MBBS, DPM, MD)

          He is a psychiatrist working in the field since 1978. His hobbies are photographyand listening to Rabindra Sangeet.

          He has been associated with the Indian Psychiatric Society, Indian Association of Social Psychiatry,and Indian Association of Private Psychiatry since the last 20 years.

            GENERAL BODY MEMBER – Dr. Ranadip Ranjan Ghosh Roy (MBBS, DPM)

            A psychiatrist by profession, Dr. Ranadaip has been associated with a few NGOs in the city. He was the past secretary of the Indian Psychiatric Society. He is interested in Organizational Developmental activities. He has been an active member of the Indian Psychiatric Society, Indian Association of Social Psychiatryand Indian Association of Private Psychiatry.